Best products to minimise scarring?

Best products to minimise scarring?
0.0 0

I would love to know what you ladies have had success with in terms of minimising scarring from cuts and blemishes. My Mum has always pushed rosehip oil on me as a solution for quick healing without scars but I’m keen to get something more potent.

Another friend suggested that Jurlique had a lavender oil that worked really well for healing scars when she had surgery.

I also keep looking at The Chemistry Brand Retin-Oil and wondering if I should give this a crack. What have you guys used for this type of thing?

For cuts, avoid everything except the mildest of oils, lavender (mixed with a base oil), rosehip, olive - anything at all after initial healing as it’s not the oil that helps it’s the actual massage keeping the scarred connective tissues soft and pliable. (i’m an ex wound management nurse) I do like rosehip as it has low levels of a mild Vit A that naturally occurs in it. Retinol can help further down the track but should be avoided for the first 3 months. Blemish scarring if it’s the pigmentation type, gets great results with a combo of retinol, AHA’s, and Vit C and sunblock. For pitted acne scarring nothing over the counter will help - you need to bring in the big guns and see a cosmetic derm or a top notch beautician - if I’m allowed to make recommendations, I can highly recommend Claire Francoise in Prahran for the Melbourne ladies amongst us.

Also, I like the look of that product you posted above - that looks lovely for longer term use.

Definitely Retin A.

@tinamiller! Wow I totally found the right person for advice with you then. I’ve been discussing scar minimising treatments with a friend who just had a c-section and is paranoid about keloid and just general scarring as she’s prone to it. So you reckon just rosehip oil or similar for the first 3 months for that one? What about bio-oil?