Thoughts On Oil Cleansers

cleanser
oilcleanser
Thoughts On Oil Cleansers
0.0 0

Who here uses them or has in the past? I’ve always only ever used gel or cream based cleansers but have heard great things about oil cleansers and considering giving one a go. My one big question is - doesn’t it leave your skin oily? Do you have to wipe them off?
Which have you guys tried that you recommend?

I’ve been using oil (and oil balm) cleansers for a few years now and haven’t looked back. They definitely don’t leave skin oily at all, you apply and massage the oil onto your face, emulsify with water (it will turn milky looking like a creme cleanser) and then clean off with a wet face washer in a sort of buffing motion. I then just rinse and wipe until my skin looks and feels clean. I’m currently using Elizabeth Arden Ceramide Replenishing Oil, and have used Neutrogena, Dermalogica and Banila Co (technically a balm - but turns to oil on your face) and have liked them all except the Neutrogena - it’s mineral oil based and my skin wasn’t too thrilled with that!

Thanks @tinamiller. Does any normal face washer/towel work? A friend of mine mentioned that she bought muslin cloths specifically to wipe off her oil cleanser?

@christined I’ve never seen the need to use anything but my face cloths. I just get nice quality cotton (I’m a sucker for Sheridan) and pop in the wash at the end of each day. I don’t think muslin is necessary personally…

Oil or Balm cleansers are just beautiful on the skin and remove every bit of make up. It is a common misconception that oily skinned people should steer clear of oils or moisturiser. The truth is that if you don’t use products that moisturise the skin, your skin will simply produce more sebum, thus making the skin oilier.